Three Rivers Regional Library System

Three Rivers Regional Library System

Material Information

Three Rivers Regional Library System
Physical Description:
[2] p. : ; 28 x 22 cm.


Subjects / Keywords:
Public libraries -- -- History -- Florida -- -- Dixie County -- ( lcsh )
Public libraries -- -- History -- Florida -- -- Gilchrist County -- ( lcsh )
Public libraries -- -- History -- Florida -- -- Lafayette County -- ( lcsh )
letter ( marcgt )

Record Information

Source Institution:
University of South Florida Library
Holding Location:
University of South Florida
Rights Management:
All applicable rights reserved by the source institution and holding location.
Resource Identifier:
F16-00066 ( USFLDC DOI )
f16.66 ( USFLDC Handle )

USFLDC Membership

Added automatically
Florida Library History Project

Postcard Information



This item has the following downloads:

Full Text
xml version 1.0 encoding UTF-8 standalone no
record xmlns http:www.loc.govMARC21slim xmlns:xsi http:www.w3.org2001XMLSchema-instance xsi:schemaLocation http:www.loc.govstandardsmarcxmlschemaMARC21slim.xsd
leader ntm 22 Ka 4500
controlfield tag 008 s flunnn| ||||ineng
datafield ind1 8 ind2 024
subfield code a F16-00066
1 0 245
Three Rivers Regional Library System
[2] p. ;
c 28 x 22 cm.
2 4 610
Three Rivers Regional Library System --
x History
Public libraries --
z Florida --
Dixie County --
Public libraries --
Florida --
Gilchrist County --
Public libraries --
Florida --
Lafayette County --
Hadden, John K.
t Florida Library History Project


Florida Library History ProjectThree Rivers Regional Library System From August 1960 until September 1995, the Dixie, Gilchrist and Lafayette County Public Libraries were members of the Suwannee River Regional Library System (SRRLS). In July 1994 a Task Force made up of a representative of each of the six counties of the SRRLS and their Library Director Danny Hales, began meeting to explore the advantages of dividing the six-county system into two three-county systems. In the first meetings of the Task Force, it became obvious that the benefits of dividing the region far outweighed the negatives. Plans were made to formally split into two separate systems at the conclusion of the 1994-95 fiscal year. In June 1995, John Hadden became the Library Director for the new library system. The next four months were spent meeting State Aid requirements, and establishing a regional library office in Mayo, the county seat of Lafayette County. A contest was also held to choose a name for the new library system, and "Three Rivers Regional Library System" (TRRLS), was selected from more than seventyfive entries. Three Rivers stands for the names of the rivers that border the three counties: the Santa Fe, Steinhatchee and Suwannee. TRRLS officially began service to the citizens of Dixie, Gilchrist and Lafayette Counties on October 1, 1995. The Mission of the Three Rivers Regional Library System is to give the people of Dixie, Gilchrist and Lafayette Counties access to materials for their informational, recreational, and life-long learning needs. TRRLS strives to reach this mission through the Dixie County Public Library, Gilchrist County Public Library and the Lafayette County Pubic Library and an administrative office that coordinates services. A popular Books-by-Mail program and deposit paperback book collections throughout the region also support this mission. The Three Rivers Regional Library System has a seven member governing board appointed by the three counties. Each member county is included in the Interlocal Agreement that specifies the governance of the regional library system. The role of the regional library is to support the member libraries in all aspects of public


library service. This includes acquisition of materials, cataloging and technical processing, continuing education and training, library programming, computer and networking applications, and outreach services. Currently beginning its fourth year of operations, the Three Rivers Regional Library System aggressively strives to provide quality library service to Dixie, Gilchrist and Lafayette Counties, while meeting the challenges of three rural counties ranked within the top ten Florida counties for projected growth during the next decade. John K. Hadden, Director January 1999


Download Options

Choose Size
Choose file type
Cite this item close


Cras ut cursus ante, a fringilla nunc. Mauris lorem nunc, cursus sit amet enim ac, vehicula vestibulum mi. Mauris viverra nisl vel enim faucibus porta. Praesent sit amet ornare diam, non finibus nulla.


Cras efficitur magna et sapien varius, luctus ullamcorper dolor convallis. Orci varius natoque penatibus et magnis dis parturient montes, nascetur ridiculus mus. Fusce sit amet justo ut erat laoreet congue sed a ante.


Phasellus ornare in augue eu imperdiet. Donec malesuada sapien ante, at vehicula orci tempor molestie. Proin vitae urna elit. Pellentesque vitae nisi et diam euismod malesuada aliquet non erat.


Nunc fringilla dolor ut dictum placerat. Proin ac neque rutrum, consectetur ligula id, laoreet ligula. Nulla lorem massa, consectetur vitae consequat in, lobortis at dolor. Nunc sed leo odio.